Provider profile
CoverWallet review: coverage, ownership and claims
- What it is
- Digital insurance agency; separate insurers issue the policies
- Owner
- Aon plc, since the acquisition closed on January 7, 2020
- Founded
- 2015, by Inaki Berenguer and Rashmi Melgiri
- Lines listed
- General liability, workers’ comp, BOP, property, E&O, auto, umbrella
- Licensed producer named
- Affinity Insurance Services, Inc. (Aon Affinity), all states, as of October 2026
- How you buy
- Online application or a personal advisor by phone, as of October 2026
This review explains what CoverWallet is, who owns it, what its website offers as of October 2026 and how claims and service work. It relies on CoverWallet’s and Aon’s own pages, the insurer portal that services some CoverWallet policies and insurance trade press.
What CoverWallet is and how buying works
CoverWallet was founded in 2015 by technology entrepreneurs Inaki Berenguer and Rashmi Melgiri, according to Insurance Journal’s November 2019 report on its sale. At that point it had more than 300 employees, with offices in New York City, Rochester, New York and Spain. Aon agreed to buy it that month and completed the acquisition on January 7, 2020, saying the business would go to market as “CoverWallet, an Aon company.”
CoverWallet is an agency. It helps you choose and buy coverage, but an insurance company issues the policy, sets the premium and pays claims. At closing, Aon described CoverWallet as a digital insurance platform for small and medium-sized businesses that works with carriers as partners.
Buying looks different now than in CoverWallet’s early years. As of October 2026, CoverWallet’s home page, its licenses page and its former trucker page all display the same Aon Affinity “Insurance for Your Business” page. You start an application online or call a personal representative, which the page says is free, and existing policyholders have a separate link. The footer names Affinity Insurance Services, Inc., the company behind the Aon Affinity brand, as a licensed producer in all states.
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2015 | Founded by Inaki Berenguer and Rashmi Melgiri |
| November 2019 | Aon agrees to acquire CoverWallet |
| January 2020 | Aon completes the acquisition |
| October 2022 | Agent platform stops taking new business submissions |
| September 2023 | Insureon buys a book of CoverWallet business |
| October 2024 | Agent platform stops accepting renewals |
| October 2026 | CoverWallet’s website shows an Aon Affinity page |
Coverage it offers and who issues it
As of October 2026, the page on CoverWallet’s website lists quote options for general liability, workers’ compensation, business owner’s policies (BOPs), commercial property, professional liability, commercial auto, umbrella insurance and other lines. It also has separate starting points for healthcare firms, law firms, dental firms, accounting firms, nonprofits and other businesses.
Neither CoverWallet nor Aon Affinity is the insurer; the company named on your declarations page is. One example is a CoverWallet-branded policy portal run by Homesite, an affiliate of American Family Insurance. Homesite says its policies are underwritten and issued by its member companies and affiliates.
That portal describes a BOP that combines general liability, business personal property and, if you own your building, building coverage. It also lists the business types eligible for coverage, summarized below, and says professional liability is excluded for medical and office businesses.
| Business type | Examples given | Professional liability |
|---|---|---|
| Artisan contractors | Cleaning, electrical, flooring, HVAC, landscaping, painting | Not stated |
| Auto services | Body and paint, engine repair, detailing, oil and lube | Not stated |
| Barbers and beauticians | Barbers, beauticians | Offered |
| Medical offices | Chiropractor, dentist, podiatrist, speech therapist | Excluded |
| Offices | Lawyers, accountants, realtors, consultants | Excluded |
| Restaurants | Limited-cooking, fast-food, full-service | Not stated |
| Retail | Clothing, toys, specialty food, furniture | Not stated |
Who it suits and who it may not
Based on what its website lists as of October 2026, CoverWallet fits owners who want an agent to recommend coverage and complete the purchase with them, online or by phone. The named starting points point to professional and office-based firms such as healthcare, law, dental and accounting practices and nonprofits. The Homesite program covers main-street businesses such as small contractors, auto service shops, salons, restaurants and retail stores that qualify for a BOP.
It may not fit every business or line:
- For-hire truckers and motor carriers: commercial auto is listed, but as of October 2026 CoverWallet’s former trucker page shows only the general business page, with no trucking-specific product details.
- Medical and office businesses in the Homesite program: professional liability is excluded there, so you would need it on a separate policy.
- Independent insurance agents: Coverager reported that CoverWallet exited the wholesale market and that its agent platform stopped accepting renewals on October 1, 2024.
- Owners who want to buy without speaking to anyone: the current page directs you to start an application or call an advisor, so ask whether your line can be bound online.
How claims and service work
Claims are handled by the insurer that issued your policy, not by the agency. Your policy documents name the insurer and its claims contact, so keep them where you can find them after a loss.
For policies on the CoverWallet-branded Homesite portal, Homesite says you can report a claim by phone 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, with your policy number ready. It says a claims professional will contact you before the end of the next business day, or the same day for a loss involving death or hospitalization or one that makes your business inaccessible. You can also log in to check claim status and history.
Who services older CoverWallet policies has changed. Coverager reported that Insureon bought a book of business from CoverWallet on September 30, 2023, including policies with Liberty Mutual, Hiscox and The Hartford, and services those policies going forward. When the agent platform stopped renewals, Coverager reported that agents became responsible for arranging replacement coverage for their clients. If you bought through CoverWallet some years ago, check your latest renewal documents for the agent of record.
What to compare and ask before buying
Put each quote’s declarations page side by side and ask the same questions of every agency or insurer:
- Which insurance company issues each policy, and is it admitted in your state
- Which agency is your agent of record, and who handles changes, certificates and renewals
- Whether a BOP fits your business or you need separate liability and property policies
- Whether professional liability is included, offered separately or excluded for your business type
- Limits, deductibles and exclusions compared with what your leases and client contracts require
- How claims are reported and how quickly the insurer says it responds
- For vehicles, whether the insurer writes your vehicle type and use and makes any filings your authority needs
How it fits with getting several quotes
Any single agency can quote only the insurers and programs it has access to, so the same business can see different prices and terms from different agencies and from insurers that sell direct. CoverWallet’s shift onto an Aon Affinity page in 2026 is also a reason to confirm who will service your policy before you buy.
Ask for quotes with the same limits, deductibles and effective date so you are comparing like with like. A broker such as Florin can compare quotes from several insurers alongside one you get through CoverWallet.
Frequently asked questions
Is CoverWallet an insurance company?
No. CoverWallet is an insurance agency owned by Aon, and the policies it arranges are issued by separate insurers, such as Homesite’s member companies for policies on its CoverWallet-branded portal.
Who owns CoverWallet?
Aon plc owns CoverWallet. Aon announced the deal in November 2019 and completed it on January 7, 2020.
Why does CoverWallet’s website show Aon Affinity?
As of October 2026, CoverWallet’s website displays an Aon Affinity business insurance page. Its footer names Affinity Insurance Services, Inc., which operates the Aon Affinity brand, as a licensed producer in all states, and it has a link for existing policyholders.
How do I file a claim on a policy bought through CoverWallet?
Contact the insurer named on your declarations page. For policies on the CoverWallet-branded Homesite portal, Homesite takes claims by phone around the clock and says it contacts you by the end of the next business day.
Can independent agents still quote through CoverWallet?
No. Coverager reported that CoverWallet exited the wholesale market and that its CoverWallet for Agents platform stopped accepting renewals on October 1, 2024.
Does CoverWallet insure trucks?
Commercial auto is listed on its website as of October 2026, but the former trucker page now shows only the general business page. If you run under your own authority, confirm the insurer, vehicle types and filings before you apply.
Facts are drawn from the providers’ own published information and other cited sources as of the date above, and may change. Florin is an independent brokerage; this page is not an endorsement or a rating of any insurer.